The way to a person’s heart is through their stomach

Multimedia

soul-food-love-strip-v2-e1418665257814

I don’t know about you all, but my favorite thing to do in the whole world, is to eat. I love food and I love how it is such an important thing to many cultures. That being said, I think the best way to get to know a place is to see what kind of cuisine they have to offer. Baltimore is stocked full of great places to munch with cool atmospheres and unique menus.

Crab Pizza

In my opinion, pizza is one of the best foods every invented. I think most people on this planet would agree with me so naturally the place at the top of my list is where you can get some of the best pizza around (Sorry NYC!) At Matthew’s Pizza in Canton, you will find any type of pizza you could ever want and more. They have been a hometown favorite for forever, and have catered to the locals since 1943. My dad loves Matthew’s Pizza and jumps at the chance to go whenever he can. He grew up eating it and still nothing compares. The menu has everything you could possibly want from 3 cheeses to a crab pie; a pizza loaded with crab meat and old bay. Its the perfect way to recharge after a long day of cheering on the Ravens!!

Honey Pie, Oh my!

In case you weren’t already full from scarfing down all of those pizzas, Woodberry Kitchen is here to help. Located in the heart of Baltimore, they pride themselves on being a farm to table restaurant. Their menus change with the seasons, allowing the chefs to create some seriously yummy plates. The last time I was there one of the appetizers was bone marrow…yeah, I was confused too, but it was amazing. They use different ingredients in ways you would never think to combine. Besides their incredible entrees, the main reason I’m including is for the dessert. In my 20 years on this earth, I haven’t tasted anything better than Woodberry Kitchen’s honey pie. It doesn’t look or sound like anything special but let me tell you this is the dessert of the gods. Its rich and buttery and tastes like toffee butterscotch goodness. If I could only recommend one thing ever, it would be the honey pie.

When in Baltimore, crabs are it

Everyone knows that Maryland is known for their crabs. Baltimoreans try to incorporate crab meat into as many things as possible but nothing really came out as good as the crab cake. If you’re in Baltimore, the place you have to go for the best crab cake is G&M. To be honest, I’m not a huge crab cake fan (basically a cardinal sin growing up where I did) but somehow the ones from G&M have changed my mind. They literally market them as Maryland’s Best Crab Cake!! If you are a friend of my family’s, you can probably expect some crab cakes from us for your next birthday or Christmas. G&M also has a really great well rounded menu so if you aren’t into shellfish there is something for you too! There is truly something for everyone!

One thought on “The way to a person’s heart is through their stomach

Leave a Reply

